Who Am I to Demand a Happy Job?

“Who am I to think I deserve a fulfilling job? I’m lucky to have a job at all in this economy. I just need to suck it up.” I hear versions of this question and statement all the time. It makes me sad to hear it, because I know the speaker somewhere along the way got the message that they weren’t worthy. So they think they’re obligated to take a soul-destroying legal job, because after all, who are they to think they’re entitled to happiness?

light bulb wrapped in kraft paper partially torn off

Rip off your shroud of a soul-deadening job and let your talents shine.

Problem is, it’s the wrong question. The question you should be asking is “Who am I to deny the world the talents I was given? How can I justify squandering my gifts in something as useless to me as law, just because I’m afraid of the unknown?”

The right question is everything. See how you view yourself and your wants differently with that second question? Your heart, soul, inner being, or whatever you want to call it, yearns to be fulfilled by using your gifts. That’s where your light and energy are.

So let your light shine. Throw off what you’re hiding under, and brighten the world around you. The world will thank you for it.

Jennifer Alvey is a recovering lawyer who coaches unhappy attorneys on finding their true talents and light and then unleashing it on the world. Find out what coaching can do for you by scheduling a discounted sample coaching session. Email jalvey@jenniferalvey.com to set one up.